
Superior Court of the State of Arizona 
Pima County Juvenile Court 

2225 E. AJO WAY,  
Tucson, Arizona 85713-6295 

 
JUVENILE COMPETENCY PROCEDURES 

 
1. Defense Counsel meets with client and notices possible competency 

issue. 
 

2. Defense counsel shall investigate competency issue:  
 

a. speak with minor and/or parents at greater length, a minimum 
of two hours is needed to determine is more time with counsel 
is all the minor needs to fully understand the proceedings. 

b. obtain medical and/or school records (e.g., psycho-educational 
evaluation) etc.  

 
3. When appropriate the Defense Counsel shall file a motion for 

competency evaluation. This may be filed at trial reviews or before 
the scheduled trial review. The motion must be specific. The 
following are examples that ALONE are NOT adequate: 

 
a. Minor’s young age 
b. Minor has an IEP 
c. Minor doesn’t appear to understand (specify why this prevents 

adequate representation.) 
 

4. If during the TR the Court grants the motion for competency 
evaluation under A.R.S. 8-291.02 the Court will: 

 
a. Stay proceedings 
b. Order 2 doctors each unless parties stipulate to 1 psychiatrist 
c. Set a status hearing in 6 weeks 
d. Defense counsel shall send all collateral documentation to                    

Mona Ramirez within 14 days of motion being granted. 
Examples:  medical, school, behavioral health, psychiatric or 
psychological records and pending petition. A.R.S. 8-
291.04(B)* 
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e.   The State shall disclose police report(s) to Mona Ramirez 
within 14 days of motion being granted.  A.R.S. 291.04(B)* 

f.  The Probation Officer shall disclose any relevant collateral 
information they have for example, detention records, within 14 
days 

     
         *Statute says 3 days but Court will accept within 14 days. 
 
** Motion filed PRIOR TO THE TR shall include the attached 
proposed minute entry order. This will allow the court to vacate the 
TR and set a date after the evaluations are completed. See Attachment 
A.   
 
 

5. Mona Ramirez will set up appointments with evaluators as soon as 
possible and will prepare the Court Order with evaluator names and 
appointment times.  

 
The Defense Counsel shall be available to the mental health experts. 
A.R.S. 8-291.04 (C) 

 
a. Mona Ramirez will mail the information provided in section 4 

of this procedures to evaluators who have assigned. 
 

6.  Defense Counsel will contact minor and parent or guardian (including 
CPS caseworker) to remind of evaluation dates.  When possible 
Probation Officer will also call to remind minor and family of 
evaluation dates. 

 
a. Minor may be detained if he/she fails to attend evaluation 

A.R.S. 8-291.04(F) The detainment maybe for up to 30 days 
with an additional 15 days for good cause. A.R.S. 8-291.04(G) 

 
b. The minor’s parents may be held in contempt and required to 

pay a fine if they fail to get the minor to the scheduled 
appointments. (If a fine is assessed, may be equivalent cost of 
missed appointment.) 

 
 
 



 - 3 - 

7. If an appointment is missed Mona Ramirez will reset and a new order 
will be sent out with the date(s) of evaluation(s).  Defense Counsel 
and probation shall again notify minor and family of new appointment 
date and time. 

 
8. If evaluations and reports are unable to be completed by status hearing 

date the court date may be changed in Chambers and parties notified. 
 

9. The mental health expert shall submit their report within 10 working 
days of the examination. A.R.S. 8-291.07. When the evaluation 
reports are received, the original is filed with the Clerk of the Court 
under seal and a copy is provided to defense counsel. 

 
10.  Defense counsel shall redact the evaluation report and provide a copy 

to the State, the Court and Probation within 24 hours. A.R.S. 8-
291.07(A) *This applies to ALL reports. 

 
11. Within 3 working days of both redacted evaluations being disclosed, 

defense counsel and the State shall determine if they intend to  
 

a. Request a hearing 
b. Stipulate on reports 

 
12.  If decision is to request a hearing the parties shall appear at the status 

conference and hearing will be set at that time.  *The hearing must be 
set within 30 days of the date the reports were filed.  A.R.S. 8-
291.08(A). 

 
13.  If parties intend to submit on the reports this motion and minute entry 

order must be submitted 3 days prior to the status hearing and shall be 
submitted to the assigned judge. This request must be in writing. 
A.R.S. 8-291.08(A). The order is provided as attachment B.  

 
*All competency paperwork should include a copy to Mona Ramirez 
and Dr. Beverly Tobiason. 
 

14.  If reports indicate the minor competent, defense counsel and state 
should be prepared to proceed with either a plea or setting a trial date 
immediately at the status hearing set for competency. The court 
proceeding shall continue without delay. A.R.S. 8-291.08(B) 
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15.  If the reports indicate the minor is not competent and not restorable 
within the statutory 240 days; 

 
a. The court shall dismiss the matter with prejudice and 
b. In some cases, dependency and GAL or treatment in State 

Hospital may apply. A.R.S. 291.08(D) 
 

16.  If not competent but restorable within 6 months, 
 
a.  If the parties intend to stipulate on the reports there must be 

either a stipulation to probable cause on the petition or the State 
must provide probable cause prior to filing the stipulation.  At 
any competency hearing where restoration may be ordered the 
State must be prepared to provide probable cause to the Court. 

b. Detailed minute entry order on restoration will be signed by the 
court and filed A.R.S. 8-291.08 (E) 

c. A GAL will be appointed A.R.S. 8-291.09(B) 
d. Restoration services will be provided (Note:  if minor fails to 

attend restoration he/she may be ordered into custody to 
complete program.) 

e. The initial status hearing will be set in approximately 6 weeks 
to 2 months to determine how the restoration program is 
proceeding. 

f. The court will set a status hearing no less than 2 weeks prior to 
the expiration of statutory time limits. 

 
17.  Throughout the restoration program the GAL shall communicate 

with the minor and mental health expert regarding the minor’s 
progress, the number of appointments, and any other issues 
regarding the minor’s progress in the program. A.R.S. 8-291.09 
(B) 

 
The GAL shall request a status conference with the Court if the minor 
fails to attend two or more restoration appointments.  
 
The GAL shall appear or provide a written status report at each status 
conference to update the Court on the minors progress.  

 
18. The mental health expert will file a report on the minor’s progress in 

restoration program. The report should be filed 3 working days before 
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the status hearing set in the competency matter.  The report will be 
received by Mona Ramirez and original filed with Clerk of the Court 
under seal in legal file and defense counsel receives a copy.   Defense 
counsel shall redact and provide a copy of the report to the State, 
Probation Officer, GAL and Court within 24 hours. A.R.S. 8-
291.10(A) 

 
19. If the minor is not restorable refer to dismissals above. 
 
20. If there is a disagreement as to restoration at the status hearing a 

hearing as to competency will be set before the assigned judge. The 
hearing may be at the request of the county attorney, defense counsel 
or GAL 8-921.10(C). 

 
21. If the minor is not restorable but has made substantial progress the 

Court may extend restoration by 60 days if there is clear and 
convincing evidence that further participation will restore the minor. 
A.R.S. 8-291.10(C) 

 
22. If restored, parties should be immediately ready to proceed with plea 

or setting trial at the status hearing. A.R.S. 8-291.10(F) 
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